Mushfiqur Rahim: First Bangladeshi Batter Out for ‘Obstructing the Field

Mushfiqur Rahim

Mushfiqur Rahim: First Bangladeshi Batter Out for ‘Obstructing the Field –Why did Mushfiqur Rahim be sent off for not handling the ball and obstructing the pitch?
In 2017, the laws were modified to incorporate such dismissals under obstructing the field and eliminate the handled-the-ball category.

On the opening day of the second Test match between Bangladesh and New Zealand in Mirpur, Mushfiqur Rahim was thrown out for blocking the pitch, making history as the first batter in Test cricket history.

After blocking a ball from Kyle Jamieson into the ground and then slapping it away with his right hand when it rebounded up wide outside off stump, he was removed in the 41st over. Television umpire Ahsan Raza promptly upheld New Zealand’s appeal.

Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mushfiqur Rahim teammate, remarked that the action had been natural after the conclusion of the day’s play.

Mehidy stated, “It happened in the flow of the game.” “When in the crease, a batter must make a snap choice. Most likely, his hand got caught up in his batting motion. Mushfiq bhai didn’t mean to do it. During a game, a lot of thoughts go through your head in the background. These things happen, as seen by our World Cup time-out dismissal.”

Former Bangladesh captain Tamim Iqbal speculated on TV commentary that the dismissal might have been a reflex because players who practise at the net frequently pick up the ball and toss it back to the bowlers.

“A cricketer who has appeared in over 80 Tests ought to understand he can’t do that,” Tamim stated. “This can be achieved by practise habits. Batters frequently take the ball in hand and give it back to the bowler when they are in the nets. Perhaps Mushfiqur Rahim stretched his hands without thinking. However, this is manifestly ineligible as a defence.

Formerly, these dismissals were categorised as “handled the ball,” but a 2017 legislation reform eliminated that term and replaced it with “obstructing the field.”

Law 37.1.2 states that “The hitter is out blocking the field if, except in the circumstances of 37.2, he/she wilfully strikes the ball with a hand not holding the bat in the act of receiving a ball delivered by the bowler.” This will hold true regardless of whether it is the first, second, or third strike. Playing at the ball and repeatedly striking the ball to defend one’s wicket are both considered acts of receiving the ball.”

According to the MCC, handled the ball had been brought under blocking the field to simplify the mode of dismissals because, in reality, the former constituted a particular instance of the latter. “The change was primarily based around timing.” It was thought to be easier to classify handled balls as obstructing the field, of which they were an exceptional example, since the offence had to occur during the act of receiving the ball. It was determined that it would be simpler to include handling the ball within the disrupting the field law because a batter handling the ball subsequently (for example, purposefully impeding a throw) would have constituted obstruction. It only changed how the batter would be removed, not if the batter would be dismissed at all.”

Mushfiqur was trying to touch the ball with his glove earlier in his innings in Mirpur, including at ball 40.4. He had attempted to use his right hand to knock the ball away from the stumps in the 29th over, the first one after lunch, but had missed the mark.

After Mushfiqur and Shahadat Hossain combined to add 57 for the fifth wicket, taking Bangladesh from 47 for 4 to 104 for 5, the wicket eventually fell against the flow of play. Mushfiqur was out of the game after 35 balls played.

Mitchell Santner, a left-arm spinner from New Zealand, stated that, considering the situation Mushfiqur Rahim had batted Bangladesh into, the dismissal was lucky for his team.

MORE DETAIL CLICK HERE

Leave a Comment